Frequently Asked Questions

Q.1 What is DATA.GOV.HK?

DATA.GOV.HK is coordinated by the Office of the Government Chief Information Officer with the participation of different government departments and public / private organisations to disseminate various types of Public Sector Information (PSI) for free re-use for both commercial and non-commercial purposes subject to the Terms and Conditions of Use as published on DATA.GOV.HK and related websites.

Q.2 What is the objective of DATA.GOV.HK?

The Government and other public / private organisations hold a wealth of information, ranging from demographic, economic, geographical, meteorological data to historical documents and archives. We believe that providing the PSI in a form or on terms that facilitates its wider dissemination and re-use will increase the value that the community realises from the use of such information. The wider the dissemination of PSI, and the more flexibility there is in the way it is used, the greater the extent to which the benefits can be realised. This will be conducive to Hong Kong’s development as a knowledge-based economy.

Q.3 What is the scope of DATA.GOV.HK?

From 2015 onwards, free online government information will be released in digital formats to encourage development of more applications. The Government will also endeavour to work with other public / private organisations to make available more datasets on DATA.GOV.HK in future.

Q.4 How can I make use of the data disseminated under DATA.GOV.HK?

On DATA.GOV.HK, all datasets are provided in digital formats. The Government encourages more innovative uses of the PSI by the public to realise their potential values. You are welcome to make reference to resources on the Internet, acquire knowledge in educational institutions or seek assistance from relevant professionals in the industry for building and deploying applications.

Except re-sale of the data, there is no restriction on the uses of the data so long as the users comply with the respective Terms and Conditions of Use of DATA.GOV.HK and related websites.

Q.5 Do I need to pay the Government in re-using the data available on DATA.GOV.HK? In case my re-use generates profit?

The Government will not collect fees and royalties for commercial or non-commercial re-use of data on DATA.GOV.HK.

Q.6 What are the key functionalities of DATA.GOV.HK?

DATA.GOV.HK is a newly developed platform with expanded capacity and richer functionalities. For instance, users can preview the details of the datasets before downloading, search datasets with different attributes (e.g. name, format, provider, etc.) or visualise the data directly on the portal. We will also showcase applications developed by the community with DATA.GOV.HK datasets.

常見問題

Q.1 什麼是「資料一線通」?

「資料一線通」由政府資訊科技總監辦公室統籌,並與各部門及公營/私營機構共同推行,免費發放各種公共資料,供市民大眾遵照「資料一線通」及有關網站的使用條款及條件作商業及非商業再用。

Q.2 「資料一線通」的目標為何?

政府及公營/私營機構均擁有大量資料,涉及人口、經濟、地理、氣象資料、歷史文獻及檔案等。我們相信以方便公眾廣為發放和再使用的形式或使用條款提供這些公共資料,可增加社會在使用該等資料時所得到的價值。公共資料越得到廣泛發放,其用途越具彈性,能為社會帶來的益處也越大。這將有助香港發展成一個知識型經濟的社會。

Q.3 「資料一線通」會涵蓋什麼數據?

從2015年起,我們會以數碼格式發放免費開放的網上政府資料,方便公眾開發更多應用。政府會與其他公營/私營機構合作發放更多資料。

Q.4 我可如何利用「資料一線通」發放的資料?

「資料一線通」提供的資料全部以數碼格式發放。政府鼓勵你發掘公共資料的創新用途,以充分發揮其潛在價值,亦歡迎你參考互聯網上的資源、報讀教育機構的課程或尋求業內專業人士協助,進一步瞭解如何建立應用程式。

除不得轉售從「資料一線通」下載的資料外,你只要遵照相關的使用條款及條件,便可無限制地使用資料。

Q.5 如果我再用「資料一線通」發放的資料,甚至利用有關資料賺取利潤,政府會收費嗎?

政府不會就再用「資料一線通」發放的資料作商業或非商業用途而收取費用。

Q.6 革新後的「資料一線通」網站有什麼特點?

「資料一線通」網站已經變成一個容量更大、功能更豐富的平臺。例如用戶可以在下載前預覽數據集的細節,透過數據集的不同屬性(例如名稱、格式、部門等)進行搜索,或者于網站上將資料圖表化。另外,我們亦會展示由社會大眾利用公共資料開發的應用程式。